Posted in Poetry

Memories

Memories. © 2016 LC

My mind swims with 17 years of memories.
You were my best friend, my partner in crime.
Today in church, an empty pew, no wisecracks,
no long brown stringy hair– no matter how much you brushed it.
Though I wanted to cry, I didn’t and I was proud.
The first time I have been there since you left us.
My life seems so much less colorful with you gone.
When I visit your grave site all is the way you’d like it.
With pretty flowers all around, pretty pinks and blues.
I pulled the weeds– and maybe a growing flower on accident.
It looked like a weed!
I knew if you were watching you’d laugh.
Your laugh was contagious.
Nobody could be sad around you.
You always knew what to say,
and even said what you shouldn’t.
But that was just the way you were.
I loved you anyway. Always will.

Author:

Dreamer. Doer. Poet. Writer. Mom. Baker. Lover of Many Things.

Leave A Comment...

