Posted in Poetry

Come Back

Come back.

©2016 LC

I look at you daddy,

and I see so much pain.

A man split in two.

Maybe never to be whole again?

Looking at you daddy–

I realize you look a lot like me.

I can see the pain in your eyes.

Yet so much is hidden that I don’t see.

I look at you– my father–

and the pain consuming your face.

I hope it wasn’t ever caused by me

Because I didn’t grow up at your place.

I look at your hands–

so much bigger than mine.

But the hurt, the pain, in your eyes–

has been there for quite some time.

I look at you– my dad,

and I realize I don’t really know you– at all.

Except we like to occasionally listen to the same tunes.

You and mom gave me up when I was so small.

Looking at you daddy,

is like seeing a wraith– a ghost.

When are you coming back to us?

Your family needs you the most.

Author:

Dreamer. Doer. Poet. Writer. Mom. Baker. Lover of Many Things.

Leave A Comment...

