Posted in Poetry

Easter Memories.

Easter Memories.

L.C. © 2016

Frilly dresses made of lace,

an elaborate bonnet around my face.

Shopping trips to find a stuffed Easter bunny.

Hating the dress I had to wear to church!

The fancy shoes hurt my feet! I looked funny.

The house decked out with inflatable bunnies,

an Easter egg tree. I’d dance while I performed my search.

 

All jazzed up, a gigantic basket filled with chocolate would be found.

My dad would sneak some candy when he thought no one was around.

Chocolate for breakfast, the parade, and off to church we would go!

My grandma proud as can be.  More emotional. Though she held her head high.

There were things about her then, I didn’t know.

Now I can’t ask because she went home.

I have my memories and the stories of long ago.

My grandma will never be gone. Her memory will live on in the memories.

Of the ones who love and miss her, so.

 

Author:

Dreamer. Doer. Poet. Writer. Mom. Baker. Lover of Many Things.

Leave A Comment...

